Principle Investigator
Prof. James R. Engstrom (

James R. Engstrom is currently a professor in the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Cornell University. Since 2002 he has also been a member of the Graduate Field of Chemistry and Chemical Biology. Prof. Engstrom is the recipient of numerous awards, including, in 1991, a NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the Lilly Endowment Teaching Fellowship in 1995, as well as 2 College of Engineering Teaching Awards. In 2005 he was made a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. From 1998 to 2001, he worked for Symyx Technologies, where he was vice president of high-throughput screening and electronic materials. Presently, Prof. Engstrom’s research is focusing in two areas: inorganic-organic interfaces, and organic thin film electronics. He is actively engaged in research that seeks to build robust interfaces between organic thin films/monolayers and inorganic (dielectric or metallic) thin film overlayers. He earned a B.S. degree in chemical engineering from the University of Minnesota and a Ph.D. degree in chemical engineering from the California Institute of Technology.

Graduate Students

Jay Swarup (
CBE PhD, since 2021

James Jensen (
CBE PhD, since 2022

Chi-Hsiang Huang (
MSE MS, since 2023

Saloni Vaidya (
CBE MS, since 2023

Zhantao Zhang (
MSE MS, since 2023

Burke Combs (
CBE MS, since 2024

Undergraduate Students

Anton Seleznev (
CBE Class of 2025

Pedro Haracemiv (
CBE Class of 2025

Neil Shah (
CBE Class of 2026

Vayun Tiwari (
ECE Class of 2026

Ranya Benchaaboune (
Chemistry Class of 2026


Jeffrey Gao, MS 2024 (Applied Materials)

Geet Chheda, MS 2024 (ASM)

Ivan Bourov, MEng 2023 (Infineum)

Amy You, MS 2023 (ASM)

Heng-Ray Chuang, MS 2023 (MSE PhD Student, Purdue)

Yen-Hsiung Wang, MS 2021 (TSMC)

Taewon Suh, PhD 2020 (ASM > Lam Research)

Pengyuan Zhao, MS 2020 (ASM)

Hugh Bullen, PhD 2020 (Intel)

Hae Won Sohn, MS 2018 (ISE PhD Student, Texas A&M > Samsung)

Jiun-Ruey Chen, PhD 2017 (Intel)

Rambert K. Nahm, PhD 2016 (Intel)

Wenyu Zhang, PhD 2015 (Applied Materials)

Edward R. Kish, PhD 2014 (RSR Technologies)

Tushar V. Desai, PhD 2011 (Intel)

Kevin J. Hughes, PhD 2011 (Lubrizol)

Sugandha Bhargava, MS 2008 (Bayer Technology Services)

Manish Sharma, PhD 2008 (Intel)

Abhishek Dube, PhD 2006 (Applied Materials)

Jared L. Mack, MS 2006 (U.S. Department of Energy)

Aravind S. Killampalli, PhD 2005 (Intel)

Paul F. Ma, PhD 2004 (ASM)

Todd W. Schroeder, PhD 2003 (Lam Research)

Peter Cheng (Yongjun Zheng), PhD 2000 (Semitronix)

Andrew M. Lam, PhD 2000 (QuSwami)

Sam E. Roadman, PhD 1999 (Cree)

Martha E. Jones, PhD 1997 (Intel)

Nirmalya Maity, PhD 1996 (Applied Materials)

Li-Qun Xia, PhD 1995 (Applied Materials)

Michael J. Furjanic, MS 1993 (Intel)